HALLESCHE: Efficiency through electronic claims processing

3500 claim cases per day are investigated in a non-paper format, released for processing and electronically archived

Stuttgart, June 16, 2010
By moving to a digital processing of claims, the HALLESCHE Krankenversicherung highly improves the efficiency of its administration. The persons responsible decided to use the document management system of the producer OXSEED to process claims.

The key processes for reading, investigating and processing of documents are already handled by IT systems of the HALLESCHE Krankenversicherung. Since the year 2003, the software of OXSEED supports the insurance company’s handling of about 3500 claims per day.

In the first phase, OXSEED sorts and electronically files the documents into folders for the insured policy holders and distributes them to the workbaskets of the claims adjusters – here is the entry point for claims to flow into the claims processing system. Subsequently, the claims adjuster can use the application “OXSEED I-VIEW”, which is integrated in the claims processing system, to view and process the line items of individual documents of the claim. They investigate the claims, add notes to a document , split and associate invoices charge amounts to their respective areas. They finally send the settlement information for further processing to the claims processing system.

The HALLESCHE Krankenversicherung decided to equip their work stations with the browser-based software of OXSEED. All applications are hosted on a mainframe in the insurance company’s computing center. The claim adjusters only need a standard software browser, such as Microsoft Internet Explorer, to work with the data and documents and to communicate with the policy holders.

The deep integration of the browser-based document management system with their insurance applications is considered by the HALLESCHE as a success factor for the quality improvement in their operational processes.

“In their conversion of the paper-bound processes to digital processing, we were able to support the persons responsible at the HALLESCHE Krankenversicherung”, says Wolfgang Maas, member of the executive board at OXSEED AG. “The major reason for the decision of HALLESCHE was the capability of OXSEED to mirror all steps of the process”.

HALLESCHE: Elektronische Leistungsbearbeitung für effiziente Prozesse

Täglich werden 3.500 Leistungsvorgänge papierlos geprüft, freigegeben und elektronisch archiviert

Bielefeld, 16.06.2010
Mit der Umstellung auf die digitale Bearbeitung von Leistungsvorgängen erzielte die HALLESCHE Krankenversicherung eine hohe Effizienzsteigerung innerhalb der Verwaltung. Die Verantwortlichen entschieden sich für das Dokumenten Management System des Herstellers OXSEED, um Leistungsdokumente zu bearbeiten.

Wesentliche Prozessschritte beim Auslesen, Prüfen und Verarbeiten von Dokumenten wurden bei der HALLESCHE Krankenversicherung bereits von IT-Systemen übernommen. Seit dem Jahr 2003 unterstützt die Software von OXSEED die Versicherung bei der Bearbeitung von täglich circa 3.500 Leistungsvorgängen.

Zunächst sortiert OXSEED die elektronischen Dokumente in die Akten der Versicherten und verteilt sie in die Postkörbe der Leistungssachbearbeiter – von hier aus beginnt direkt der Einstieg in das Leistungssystem. Anschließend besteht für die Sachbearbeiter die Möglichkeit, mit der in das Leistungssystem integrierten Anwendung „OXSEED I-VIEW“ die Rechnungspositionen einzelner Dokumente zu bearbeiten. Sie prüfen die Ansprüche der Versicherten, können Annotationen an das Dokument anfügen und die Rechnungen in verschiedene Bereiche aufteilen. Schließlich übernehmen sie die Abrechnungsdaten zur weiteren Bearbeitung in das Leistungssystem.

Die HALLESCHE Krankenversicherung hat sich bei der Ausstattung der Arbeitsplätze für die browserbasierte Software von OXSEED entschieden. Sämtliche Applikationen laufen auf einem Großrechner im Rechenzentrum der Versicherung. Die Sachbearbeiter benötigen lediglich eine Standard-Browser-Software wie den Microsoft Internet Explorer, um mit Daten und Dokumenten zu arbeiten oder Versicherte anzuschreiben.

In der tiefen Integration des browserbasierten Dokumenten Management Systems in ihre versicherungstechnischen Anwendungen sieht die HALLESCHE einen Erfolgsfaktor für die qualitativen Verbesserungen der Arbeitsabläufe.

„Wir konnten die Verantwortlichen der HALLESCHE Krankenversicherung bei der Umstellung der Prozesse von Papier auf digitale Bearbeitung unterstützen“, sagt Wolfgang Maas, Vorstand der OXSEED AG. „Ausschlaggebend für die Entscheidung der HALLESCHE war, dass die Software von OXSEED alle Prozessschritte abbilden kann.“